Skip links

Intellectual property protection in the United States

The United States general information

The United States of America, commonly referred to as the United States (US or U.S.), America, or simply the States, is a federal republic consisting of 50 states, 16 territories, and a federal district. The 48 contiguous states and the federal district of Washington, D.C. are situated in central North America between Canada and Mexico. The state of Alaska is the northwestern part of North America, west of Canada and East of Russia, which is across the Bering Strait in Asia, and the state of Hawaii is an archipelago in the mid-North Pacific. The country also has five populated and nine unpopulated territories in the Pacific and the Caribbean.

IP Legal Base in the USA

Patent Law
Patent Rules
Trademark Law
Trademark Rules
Copyright Law

International organizations/agreements

National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2012
The United States– Panama Trade Promotion Agreement Implementation Act
The United States– Colombia Trade Promotion Agreement Implementation Act
The United States – Korea Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act
Section 355 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act
Consolidated Antitrust Laws from the United States Code
Biologics Price Competition and Innovation Act
Federal Alcohol Administration Act
National Stolen Property Act
Prescription Drug User Fee Amendments
Tariff Act
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act
21st Century Department of Justice Appropriations Authorization Act
Nuclear Regulatory Legislation
Indian Arts and Crafts Enforcement Act
Economic Espionage Act
Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act

For receiving our quotes for IP registrations in the USA please drop us an email at